The Shadow Lines : 25th Anniversary Collectors' Edition
About the Book
Amitav Ghosh’s The Shadow Lines is one of his most beloved novels and a landmark in Indian literature. Acclaimed for its ideas, its narrative structure and depth of storytelling, it won the Ananda Purashkar award and a Sahitya Akademi award. To celebrate the 25th anniversary of this classic, Penguin India presents a hardback special edition of 500 copies. The edition will be published on high quality paper, and comes with a ribbon book mark and slip cover. Each book will also be numbered. But best of all – each book will come with a personalized note to you from Amitav. About The Author : Amitav Ghosh was born in Calcutta and grew up in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and India. He studied at the universities of Delhi and Oxford, and has taught at a number of institutions. River of Smoke is the second in the Ibis trilogy, which was shortlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize and The Hindu Literary Prize in 2011. The first of the trilogy, the bestselling Sea of Poppies, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2008. Ghosh’s other works include The Circle of Reason (Prix Médicis Étranger Award), The Shadow Lines (Sahitya Akademi Award), In an Antique Land, The Calcutta Chromosome (Arthur C. Clarke Award), Dancing in Cambodia and Other Essays, Countdown, The Glass Palace (Grand Prize for Fiction at the Frankfurt International e-books Awards), The Imam and the Indian and The Hungry Tide (Best Work in English Fiction, Hutch Crossword Book Award). In 2007 he was awarded the Grinzane Cavour Prize and in 2010 the Dan David Prize. Amitav Ghosh currently divides his time between Calcutta, Goa and Brooklyn.
Book Details
ISBN-13: 9780670087167
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publisher Imprint: Penguin Books
Language: English
Sub Title: 25th Anniversary Collectors' Edition
ISBN-10: 0670087165
Publisher Date: 13 Sep. 2013
Binding: Hardback
No of Pages: 288